Africa Map

African Press Agency

African Press Agency Logo

 Country Profile
 Useful Links
 Contact us


EU/Sakarov PrizeBack
[Published: Saturday September 26 2020]

 Sakharov Prize 2020: presentation of the candidates

BRUSSELS, 25 Sept. - (ANA) - The nominees for this year’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought will be presented to MEPs in a joint committee meeting on Monday afternoon.
MEPs from the Foreign Affairs Committee, Development Committee and Subcommittee on Human Rights will come together to assess the candidates for 2020. 
Nominations for the Sakharov Prize can be made by a political group or at least 40 MEPs.
Next steps
The committees on foreign affairs and development will vote to shortlist three finalists on 12 October. 
The final laureate will be announced on 22 October by the Parliament’s Conference of Presidents (President and political group’s leaders), which is the body that appoints the winner(s).
The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament. It was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms.
Last year, the Sakharov Prize was given to the renowned Uyghur human rights defender and economics professor Ilham Tohti.  - (ANA) -
AB/ANA/26 September 2020 - - -

North South News website

Advertise banner

News icon Africa/Human Rights
News icon France/Islamophobia
News icon Nokia/NASA
News icon UNICEF/Children poverty
News icon OECD/Social Dialogue
News icon US/Google
News icon WB/MENA
News icon US/Russia
News icon Azerbaijan/Nagorno-Karabakh
News icon South Korea/F-35A

AFRICAN PRESS AGENCY Copyright © 2005 - 2007