Africa Map

African Press Agency

African Press Agency Logo

 Environment/Natural Resources
 Global Conflicts/Terrorism
 Science & Tech
 Economic & Social Development
 Country Profile
 Useful Links
 Contact us


[Published: Thursday August 26 2010]


Angola to host Cosafa Cup

2010 Africa Cup of Nations hosts Angola are to stage the regional Cosafa Senior Challenge Cup in November.

It will be the first time that Angola has held the event, which features 14 countries from across southern Africa.

They include Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius and Mayotte. The rest are Mozambique, Namibia, Reuion, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The tournament will run from the 13th to the 29th of November and will be played in the southern cities in Lubango and Benguela.

The announcement was made after meetings featuring the Angolan Football Federation (FAF), Cosafa officials and the government.

FAF says that the costs of staging the tournament will be shared between the government of Angola and the regional body.

The 2009 event was held in Zimbabwe with the home team clinching the title. Angola has won the cup three times since it began in 1997. (ANA)

North South News website

Advertise banner

News icon Saudi Arabia/Khashoggi
News icon Somalia/Ambulance
News icon Black Sea/Shipwreck
News icon Saudi/Jamal Khashoggi
News icon France/Niqab
News icon Bomb/Soros
News icon Iraq/Bomb
News icon Trump/China
News icon China/Bridge
News icon Madagascar/Human Rights

AFRICAN PRESS AGENCY Copyright © 2005 - 2007